Showing posts with label didi gregorius. Show all posts
Showing posts with label didi gregorius. Show all posts

Tuesday, June 17, 2025

AARON BOONE'S 'BOY TOY' CAN'T GET IT DONE... AGAIN!


Another late-inning letdown. Another game lost. Another opportunity blown by the Yankees’ ever-coddled poster boy, Anthony Volpe. And, like clockwork, here comes Aaron Boone with his arms wide open, ready to shower Volpe (and hitless tag-along Austin Wells) with more undeserved praise.

Let’s just say it: These guys are not good major league players. They’re not. They’re young, yes. They have “potential,” sure. But we’re not running a prospect showcase—we’re trying to win a World Series. At some point, potential needs to translate into performance, and Volpe and Wells simply aren’t delivering. Yet Boone keeps parading them out there like they’re future Hall of Famers. It’s not just misguided—it’s delusional.

You’d think Volpe was the next Jeter based on how the Yankees talk about him. But he's not even the next Didi Gregorius. On Monday night, with two outs and the bases loaded in the bottom of the 11th, Volpe had a chance to be the hero. The Yankees were down 1-0. The stage was set. And what did he do? Grounded out on the very first pitch. Game over. Yankees lose again.

After the game, a reporter dared to ask the obvious—should Volpe have taken a pitch, especially with a fresh reliever on the mound? Boone’s response?

“The first pitch is the best one to hit sometimes. I didn't see if it was off the plate or a good pitch to go after; that might be the case. But we gotta be ready to go there.”

Translation: Nothing to see here, folks. Boone shields this kid.

It’s the same tired excuse every time. Boone sticks to these guys like glue, even when the results scream for change. Volpe went 0-for-4 with a strikeout and is now batting .241 with 8 home runs and 39 RBIs. If that’s the bar we’re setting for everyday starters in the Bronx, we’re in serious trouble.

And don’t even get started on Austin Wells—Volpe’s offensive doppelgänger. Hitless. Again. Yet there they are, penciled into the lineup daily like this is a Little League team and Boone’s just trying to keep his parent friends happy.

You want a bold take? Here it is: Boone sees himself in these guys. Scrappy, overhyped, underperforming. And if that’s true, then we’re stuck in a loop of mediocrity. Boone wasn’t exactly lighting up the league in his playing days, and if this is his blueprint for talent evaluation, it explains a lot.

Meanwhile, the Yankees have lost four straight, and the Angels—who can’t get out of their own way most nights—snapped a losing streak against us. The season is slipping, and we’re trotting out underachievers like it’s a player development camp.

At what point do the Yankees stop pretending Volpe is untouchable? 

When does Boone start holding anyone accountable besides the media for daring to ask real questions? And when, seriously when, do fans start holding Boone accountable for continuing to push a failed narrative?

Enough is enough. This isn’t working. The Yankees don’t need more praise for potential. They need production. And right now, they’re getting neither from Volpe, Wells, or the man filling out the lineup card.



Thursday, November 28, 2024

WE GOT FLASHES FROM VOLPE, BUT WE NEED MORE



This is going to sound like a hate post. It is not. I am just a very honest person and that's how Bleeding Yankee Blue was started. Me being honest about my team!

Let’s get one thing straight: I don’t dislike Anthony Volpe. He’s a nice player — decent enough at short, occasionally clutch at the plate, and by all accounts, a good kid. But if he wants to fill the enormous shoes left behind by Derek Jeter — or even the slightly smaller, more stylish shoes of Didi Gregorius — he needs to do more in my opinion. That .657 OPS in 2024? I don't love it. The Yankees can’t rely on 15-game bursts of brilliance followed by months of mediocrity. Volpe needs to be less streaky, more consistent, and above all, better. It’s that simple. Again, don't hate me, it's just how I feel.

Look, those first 15 games of 2024 were magical. He hit .382, sprayed extra-base hits all over the field, and looked like the dynamic star we’d been promised. But that shine wore off faster than a Times Square souvenir. Pitchers figured him out, and Volpe never really adjusted. Sure, he had a moment or two in the postseason — that grand slam in the World Series was electric — but flashes don’t make a superstar. If Volpe wants to be "the guy," he needs to make pitchers uncomfortable again and learn to sustain success over an entire season.

Defensively, Volpe is… fine. Not great, not bad, just fine. He’s a little better than average with his glove and his arm strength has improved enough to keep people from cringing. He's had some big moments, but for some reason I remember the errors. The bottom line is if "shortstop" is supposed to be his bread and butter, maybe it’s time he doubles down. More grounders, more reps, more focus on becoming truly elite. Being "good enough" isn’t going to cut it in the Bronx, especially not when you’re supposed to be the Yankees' next great homegrown shortstop. I mean, that's what they promoted him as.

And then there’s his presence off the field, which, let’s be honest, could use some work. Volpe talks to the media like a shy middle-schooler giving a speech he wrote on the bus that morning. It’s awkward, it’s strange, and it doesn’t inspire confidence. If he wants to be the face of the Yankees, he needs to step up in every facet, including the clubhouse and with reporters. This is New York — the spotlight is bright, and you’ve got to own it.

I know some of these opinions won’t be popular, and that’s fine. They’re mine. But moving forward, the Yankees need more from Anthony Volpe. The Bronx demands excellence, not glimpses of potential. If he wants to live up to the expectations that come with being the Yankees’ shortstop — and truly honor the legacy of Jeter and even Gregorius — he needs to hit better, field better, and work harder. Because right now, nice isn’t enough.

Hate me if you want. You may not like what I'm saying, but I don't have to agree with you... that's what being a fan is.






Wednesday, May 1, 2024

SOTO LEAVES HIS MARK ON BALTIMORE'S EUTAW STREET

I got a text message from a fan Tuesday night that said, "We already look second class against Baltimore." My response, "It's too early for that talk." And with that comment Juan Soto launched a 471 foot 2-run shot into Eutaw Street. "It's Juanderful", as John Sterling would say. So despite Baltimore being well, Baltimore and taking the first two games of the series, the Yankees keep things exciting with Soto.

Source: David Dermer/AP Photo

"For those who don’t know, Eutaw Street is the festive area that’s located between Camden Yards and the B&O warehouse. Every home run ball that completely clears the right-field wall and lands on the street gets a mini plaque on the spot where the ball lands. Didi (Gregorius) is the first Yankees player to hit a homerun on Eutaw Street since Curtis Granderson did it back in 2013," reported Elite Sports NY. Didi did it in 2019 with a 417-foot home run. In fact, Granderson, Gregorius and now Soto are in great company with other Yankee lore including Jason Giambi (three plaques on the street), Paul O’Neill, Robinson Cano, Johnny Damon, and Nick Swisher. Soto's blast is the 11th by a Yankee. 


Besides this huge home run last night in Baltimore, Soto has been absolutely on fire. According to MLB.com, "He was doing historic things from the first series of the season. Soto became the first player in the expansion era (1961) to record a go-ahead RBI in the 7th inning or later in three of his first four games with a team, and the first to do so in three of his four with the Yankees, specifically, since RBI became official in 1920, according to the Elias Sports Bureau."

We have watched him be selective at the plate, choosing the right pitches to hit. He make hard contact when he does swing, among the best in the majors. And he hits the ball in the air. According to MLB.com, "Soto is hitting .521 and slugging 1.083 on fly balls and line drives, and has always had similar numbers on such batted balls. By hitting fewer grounders, he’s positioning himself for those positive outcomes even more. The culmination of all of this: he isn’t just hitting the ball in the air more overall, but also when making hard contact. 66.7% of his hard-hit batted balls have been fly balls and line drives."

The Soto party is very popular in Yankee Stadium, of course, but even on the road, Soto has more fans than not. Sure he gets boos, but honestly, it is hard to boo for a guy that has a smile and disposition like he has. Now Soto has left his mark, permanently in Baltimore. And his plaque will soon replace the ball that he muscled out there on Tuesday night. 



--Suzie Pinstripe
BYB Senior Managing Editor
Twitter: @suzieprof






Friday, December 29, 2023

HOW DO YOU FEEL ABOUT LOSING IKF?

Source: NJ.com

The Yankee super utility guy is off to Toronto. Honestly, that one stung a little. Isiah Kiner-Falefa reinvented himself more times than he likely would have wanted. But he always seemed to land on his feet. And the Yankees needed him to play just about every position- even backup catcher if the team asked him to put on the mask. Now in 2024, he will be playing against the Yankees in the battle for the AL East. So I ask you this question, "How do you feel about losing IKF?"

Source: NY Daily News

"In an otherwise dreary Yankees season, Kiner-Falefa hit more than most and made himself appealing to plenty of teams that could use defensive flexibility," reported The New York Post following the Blue Jays acquisition of the golden utility player.

Surely, IKF was no Didi Gregorius nor could he hit like Derek Jeter as a middle infielder, but what he did do is bunt, hustle, hit with runners in scoring position and play all the outfield and infield positions except first base and catcher (although he could have). He is a gem in the clubhouse, never with a sour face only smiling and encouraging others to play their best.

Source: X.com

Now the 28-year-old infielder/outfielder will earn his salary up north, signing a two-year, $15 million contract with the Toronto Blue Jays. IKF likely will hurt the Yankees as a scrappy addition to the already pesty Jays. But with the Yankees retooling, they plan to come out swinging, with Juan Soto and Alex Verdugo taking over key corner outfield positions. 

The Yankees are not done yet as many are expecting Brian Cashman to add a pitcher to the roster and perhaps even another bat to the bench. The competition is fierce in the AL East as well as across the league with the Dodgers expected to dominate early and likely be a force in the postseason. 

But for now, I say thank you to IKF for all he did to keep us in the game, despite the injuries and in spite of moving around the field to contribute. Good luck in Toronto but don't hurt the Bombers too much. 



--Suzie Pinstripe
BYB Senior Managing Editor
Twitter: @suzieprof







Wednesday, November 29, 2023

COULD THE YANKEES ACTUALLY GET YAMAMOTO?

Source: Yuki Taguchi/WBCI/MLB Photos

What does the #18 mean to you? It means Johnny Damon and Didi Gregorius to me and likely others. The last time #18 was worn by a Yankee is was when Andrew Benintendi played for the team. But to Yoshinobu Yamamoto, #18 could mean everything. As reported by SNY, "According to league sources, the Yanks have purposefully held the number 18 for Yamamoto over the past year. That is not only Yamamoto’s number with the Orix Buffaloes, but is traditionally considered the "ace" number in Japan." So could this small gesture lure Yamamoto to the Yankees? Let's drill deeper.

Source: NY Times

"Hiroki Kuroda, a onetime NPB ace, wore 18 with the Yankees. Masahiro Tanaka wore number 18 as an ace for the NPB’s Rakuten Golden Eagles before signing with the Yankees, but took 19 in New York out of respect for Kuroda, who was still on the team," reported SNY. God I love that Tanaka! He truly gave ace-like performance as a Yankee and could Yamamoto be next?


There are several teams linked to the Japanese ace right now including the cross town rival New York Mets. But guess what? #18 is about to be retired to honor Met favorite Darryl Strawberry. According to the New York Post, "Yamamoto, by all indications, would be the right fit for both the Mets and the Yankees. Which doesn’t mean he will end up here; there’s more teams with money to spend now than there’s been since the dawn of free agency in 1976, when the numbers were still low enough that even small-market teams like Montreal and Cleveland were big free-agent players. But when the bids begin to build, assuming Yamamoto is bullish on New York, he can do what precious few have ever done: Craft a full-scale bidding war between baseball’s two fiscal monoliths."

Yet to throw another wrench into the free agency mix, there's Shohei Ohtani who the Post calls "the biggest prize on the market." Although the Yankees and the Mets for that matter are longshots for a deal with Ohtani, Steve Cohen has shown how deep his pockets can go. He even tried to throw his hat in the ring for Aaron Judge. And we know how that went down.

So could the Yankees go for it? The asking price before a bidding war ensues is $200 million. And the bidding war could also include the Dodgers, Red Sox and Giants- all who have #18 available by the way. But if Yamamoto wants to be a Yankee and the Yankees are willing to go for it, we may have our modern day Tanaka come spring. 




--Suzie Pinstripe
BYB Senior Managing Editor
Twitter: @suzieprof








Thursday, June 15, 2023

IKF JUST DID THE IMPOSSIBLE & F THE METS!


WHAT THE HELL DID I JUST WATCH?

WOW....that was one freaky game. I always have high expectations for the Subway series, and even more so this year. If you would've told me that Isiah Kiner-Falefa was going to steal home plate I would've laughed hysterically, but it happened.

Pinch me, I still can't believe it but it was all thanks to an epically bad inning from the Mets. It started with a walk of Josh Donaldson and a hit-by-pitch of Anthony Rizzo. Mets reliever Jeff Brigham appeared to get a magic double play ball from Isiah Kiner-Falefa, but then a throwing error by second baseman Jeff McNeil allowed Donaldson to score and left Kiner-Falefa safe at first. Whoops. But it continues to get better when Kiner-Falefa stole second base, then took third on another throwing error. Two errors would be it, right? Nope, on the next pitch Kiner-Falefa stole home after reliever Brooks Raley butchered a throw to home. If you didn't get to watch it, check it out here.


When did IKF suddenly become so daring? I guess his job as the ultimate utility player may have something to do with it. Either way, I like his moxy right now. No one is stealing his mojo right now and especially not the Mets. IKF wasn't exactly getting rave reviews last season, and especially not from me but I can admit when I am wrong.

Look, I will never be in IKF's fan club however, we've watched plenty of other Yankees fold under the pressure. I'd say Aaron Hicks and Joey Gallo are perfect examples just couldn't rise to the occasion and get the job done. IKF has been given multiple and he just stole the show.... literally. I gladly eat crow here.

At the end of the day, we didn't win the game. I wish we did but IKF stole home! The Yankees haven't done that since Didi Gregorius did it on August 27, 2016, and if we had to lose to the Mets at least we got a show in the process. 

I give credit when credit is due.... IKF is doing big things wearing his many hats on this team. He's proving he can step up in any role the Yankees ask, and he can do the impossible. I guess the Mets can too...they played a sloppy game and miraculously won a baseball game. I guess miracles do happen!


Whatever....on to the next one.


--Jeana Bellezza-Ochoa
BYB Senior Managing Editor
Twitter: @nyprincessj






Friday, June 9, 2023

DIDI GREGORIUS JUST LANDED A GIG


I've always been a fan of Didi Gregorius. He came to New York with big shoes to fill and he didn't ask for that. He did what he should have done. Took a deep breath, explained to the fans that he's not replacing icon Derek Jeter, he's just gonna play his game.  And then, guess what he did... played his game and became a Yankee favorite.

Didi was absent from baseball for a bit and bounced around from team to team. He currently was playing in Mexico, but that doesn't mean he wasn't trying to get back to the MLB.  Well, now we have a confirmation. He just signed a deal with the Mariners.

MLB Trade Rumors writes:

"The Mariners have signed infielder Didi Gregorius to a minor league deal... Gregorius’ deal contains a $1.5MM base salary if he cracks the MLB roster, reports Daniel Kramer of MLB.com (Twitter link)."

It's great for Didi. I really hope he can hang on with the big club. He's a gentleman in baseball. Just a great dude. I wish him the best.



Wednesday, August 17, 2022

SMOKE & MIRRORS & THE KEVIN BROWN EFFECT


It's like the scene in "JAWS" when everyone is on Amity Beach enjoying a fun-filled summer day. Suddenly they're drawn into a nightmare when a pretty, young, hippie girl yells, "Sh-Shark! There's a SHARK IN THE POND!"

That's just like today in Yankee Fanland...except instead of yelling "Shark" she's yelling, "SLUMP!! THERE IN A SLUMP IN THE BRONX!" We stink as of late...like company that's overstayed their invite or 3 day old flounder you brought home in a doggy bag and forgot in the back of the fridge. 

But maybe...hear me out...maybe it's been a lot of smoke and mirrors? Look, Aaron Judge is ALL WORLD. He should be offered 300 million over 7 years, a player option on the 8th and name him Captain. That's the break wall. Just offer that. If he turns it down...well, I'd be disappointed but not shocked. He may know what many of us do and don't want to say out loud...this team isn't going anywhere. 



Stanton has been great...but never healthy. DJ has bounced back and is effective...but ain't gonna carry the club. We FLAT OUT overpaid and over valued Gerrit Cole. He is an ace...at times. When the planets are aligned, the weather is a comfortable 77 degrees, winds are moderate at 5 to 7mph and out of the south, south east and the Yanks are at home...playing Baltimore. 

Sevy? He's broken. Nestor? He's a great story and a 5th starter or long man in disguise. Jameson? I need at least 5 to 6 shots of Jameson watching him. Frankie? That's the Kevin Brown effect Cashman LOVES to pull. We didn't get you a Warrior on the bump like Schilling...HERE'S KEVIN BROWN!! Then he blows up like a gender reveal stunt in the ALCS!!



The rest of the roster is O-K to poor. Donaldson is not going to cut it. He may run into one here and there but he's been Clint Frazier playing the infield. 

I-K-F is a W-T-F. What was Cashman thinking there? Go get Didi. It's a move sideways and he's loved in the clubhouse. I love Benny as a pickup. He is a solid player and is a major upgrade from Joey (so no harm no foul there). He looks the part of a Yankee and it drives the Massholes mad.

Aaron Hicks gets his own paragraph for all the WRONG reasons. This guy sucks. No sugar coating on this one. He was a bum in Minnesota and an often injured bum here. He should be selling pretzels in the
centerfield concessions stands not playing on the field. The BEST centerfielder they have in the big fella wearing #99. (when healthy it should be Benny, Judge, Stanton Left to Right...EVERYDAY!). Hicks is killing this team. 



He is an automatic out and it's time for him to go to the land of forgettable Yankees with the likes of Pavano, Brown, Gallo and Maas. Cashman's ego may be holding on to him...Brian is WRONG.

The rest of this club is just like the others. We have two closers...one a once great one on his way out and one a pickup from Pittsburgh that was over his skis in the first half. The Pen is taxed already and the stretch won't be kind to them.

At it's core I believe, like so many clubs, the Yankees have WAY over hyped their farm. For every Aaron Judge who pans out there is a full bus load of bushers that never will. But we hold onto them and miss out on trigger pulls The Boss wouldn't have ever allowed. Yes, George almost pissed away Mo and Jeter, but he wouldn't have let Soto go to save Volpe. We got Frankie we NEEDED Luis. We traded Monty...again, it won't kill us but he was more reliable than Tallion!




The Yankees got a lot of breaks early on. The Two Towers were ranking (Judge still is). The staff looked strong, but you could see the strings and tape if you looked closely. They are better constructed
over in Queens...kills me to say that but it's a fact.

I don't blame the skipper...I blame Brian Cashman. 

He has the checkbook and means to always be competitive...but not the real baseball sense to make better moves. He was lauded at the deadline for being active...but c'mon his act was a cover band. It was a D+. Benny was a good move, but not enough to make up for Hicks on this team or Stanton being hurt...again.

The 2022 Yankees are a front...a put on. The Pinstripes are sharpie'd on this year. There is no true backbone.

My fear isn't the Yankees not winning the series...no. My fear is the 2023 Yankees lose Judge and return a team of older, overpaid, overhyped, overvalued players....and it's 1985 for the next 10 seasons...and Stick Michael ain't here to save us.


Tell 'em Pete...





--Mike O'Hara
BYB Contributor
Twitter: @mikeyoh21




Tuesday, June 7, 2022

THREE GUYS THAT COULD HELP THE YANKEES DOWN THE STRETCH


Not sure you saw all the names popping around. Yes, the Yankees are doing really well, but not only that, stocking some extra guys in the minors that they clearly think could help the team as well has never hurt either.  I wanted to break them down for you, cause, the names are not only recognizable, but they also still have some talent attached to them.


Jake Bauers: This is the newest of the acquisitions. NJ.com writes of Bauers: "Bauers, 26, has played parts of three seasons in the majors leagues with the Rays, Cleveland and the Mariners. He’s a career .213 hitter in the majors with a .655 OPS. He’s played mostly first base and left field in the bigs."

Now here's the thing. Bauers is a minor leaguer. He will see action there, and if they need him at any point, they can call him up and you would hope he could make an impact. What has he done recently? Not much: "Bauers hit .135 with three home runs, 12 RBI and a .547 OPS in 29 games at Triple-A Louisville this season. Bauers hit .099 with two bombs in 21 games since getting off the injured list May 4. He hasn’t played in the majors this year."

Bauers is my least favorite pickup.


Shane Greene:  Yup, if you didn't know, now you know, Shane Greene is back. When it comes to Greene, Sports Illustrated writes: "After his promising rookie year, Greene was shipped to Detroit in the three-team deal that sent shortstop Didi Gregorius from Arizona to the Yankees.

Greene quickly transitioned from a starter to a reliever. In his fourth season with the Tigers, he recorded 32 saves. The next year, Greene was an American League All-Star before he was traded to the Braves at the deadline. From there, Greene spent three seasons in Atlanta before ending up with the Dodgers. In 2022, the right-hander pitched seven times in Triple-A Oklahoma City with Los Angeles, making just one appearance in a Dodgers uniform.

Greene, 33, elected free agency on May 22. The Yankees swooped in..."

Greene is a minor league guy right now, but I expect to see him as the season progresses. I really do.

And then of course there's Greg Bird. NJ.com writes:


"Bird can hold his head high with his performance during the streak. Per RailRiders PR:

He has gone 10 for 27 with two home runs and four doubles during this stretch. Prior to this streak, Bird’s longest hit streak was three which lasted from May 3 to May 6. After batting .149 in 15 games in the month of April, he’s batting .246 in 16 games in the month of May. 2022 is the fourth season Bird has appeared for the RailRiders. The most games he ever played for SWB was 34 back in 2015 (currently at 31 in 2022)."

If Bird can continue to figure out his hitting, I see big things. Wouldn't it be great to see Bird come back up, be hot in pinstripes and come full circle.

So what do you think? Can these guys help or will they hurt? Will they make it back up to the bigs or will they just fade away. I personally think the Yankees made some smart moves... and now we wait and see what happens next. Stay tuned.

Saturday, March 19, 2022

TWEETS FROM THE FINGERS OF IDIOTS



Yankee fans didn't ever want Carlos Correa.  No. Here's the truth: Yankee fans always like the idea that we're the Yankees and could get whatever we wanted in the free agent market.  Carlos Correa was out there, he was available, yes. He was also part of that 2017 Astros cheating championship. 


In fact, he was fingered as one of the guys who was part of it. So trust me when I tell you, while it's always great to see, new, top free agents in Yankee pinstripes... Correa was never gonna be the guy.  So when this idiot tweets that he was... this guy just needs to shut the fuck up.


While I think the Donaldson trade is absolutely horrible, taking on $50 million on a broken down third baseman is ridiculous, I'm thrilled Correa went elsewhere. 


Let the Twins try and figure out how to deal with a chubby catcher with no motivation in Sanchez, and deal with Correa having an attitude and talking trash every week. Be my guest.  And this goes back to these "experts" that have it all figured out. They don't. If you were a fan, a true fan you would understand realistically what the Yankees were doing. Being provocative is annoying now. Carrabis is the leader of annoying. You know who else is? Buster Olney:


The fact is the Yankees have a new young shortstop coming up the pike in Anthony Volpe. The idea was to get a SS who would be there, but not forever.  I personally wanted Didi Gregoirus to be that guy and I know for a fact that the Yankees were interested in that. I don't know what happened to that conversation other that it just didn't work out because it would need to be a trade with the Phillies. 


But what I do know is they made a move to bring in Isiah Kiner-Falefa, And this guy already loves being a Yankee. With that, you see where it goes, and when Volpe is ready, the idea of alittle competition at the position is always in the cards.  

But guys like Olney would never write that in a tweet because it's not sexy enough. And this guy has never had a "baseball insider" moment in his life. Guys like Olney is only right when the story is confirmed by Jeff Passan because you and I both know that guys like Passan and Jack Curry do it correctly. Olney... Heyman... Nightengale... they're hacks.  Nightengale was ready to say Correa went to the Mets, trust me.


The Yankees made some moves to better themselves this week.  While Donaldson isn't my first choice, people like my 19 year old sees it as a plus, if the guy can stay healthy.  People love Kiner-Falefa and he's growing on me too.  Rizzo at first? I will definitely take that. DJ at second? Hey... I kind of like this infield. 

Provocative tweets as a way to get likes and retweets? Go away. I will never follow these pricks and I will never fall for their shit. In the end, you wanna know what really matters? What the fans think. How the fans react and what the fans really want.  It's not what the press is telling you.  That, in part is why Bleeding Yankee Blue was even started. We are REAL talk from REAL fans and we don't sugar coat it and we will NEVER LIE TO YOU in this new world of false information.  

Hey Yankee fans... I will always take your opinions over these clowns.  Why? Cause you're invested. That's why.

Happy Saturday.

Sunday, March 13, 2022

HEY CASHMAN, STOP TRYING TO COMPETE WITH STEVE COHEN


Dear Brian Cashman, 

You created the game... don't be the follower... be the leader. You're clearly out of practice.

Love,

Me

I am not a Gary Sanchez fan. I never have been, but trading him for a 35-year-old, sometimes broken-down 3rd baseman and a guy that will no doubt be a part-time shortstop is not a way to wow a Yankee fan base.  In fact, it's pretty awful.

Jeff Passan just tweeted this:


"BREAKING: The New York Yankees are finalizing a deal to acquire third baseman Josh Donaldson and shortstop Isiah Kiner-Falefa from Minnesota, sources tell ESPN."

Here's the worst part... The Twins still owed Donaldson $50 Million for 2 years and now the Yankees have that problem. Meanwhile, a better defensive 3rd baseman in Gio Urshela was just shipped off the Minnesota with Sanchez.


Meanwhile, let's think about what happens to DJ LeMahieu. Does he become our first baseman? Is that how the Yankees plan on fixing that problem? 


And let's look at Isiah Kiner-Falefa. A mediocre, 26-year-old shortstop. Cause, you know, we needed one. Now don't get me wrong, I don't want Carlos Correa either, but I made an argument for Didi Gregorius at least 3 times on Bleeding Yankee Blue and I know it's the smartest move ever. One year deal and Volpe comes up next year. Simple and a fan favorite.

The Yankees also get Ben Rortvedt. He's a catcher. OK then. 



Look Cash, everyone knows the Mets and pumpkin head Cohen are buying everyone up for a lot of money. Their team has improved. But you know what else improved? The player's egos... complacency. Players that get big money have a tendency to sit back and collect and play less hard. You know how I know? Because I've been a Yankee fan since the 70's and I've seen it time and time again when it comes to the free agency pool. Yankees never really won when they dug deep into the Free Agent pool to get top talent. I don't always work. So let the Mets do what they do... you just need to calm down and stop the knee jerk reactions by collecting injury prone 36-year old's like Josh Donaldson. Seriously stop that shit.

This Yankee move is a band aid. It will not help our club, it will further bury us.  

Something else better be coming, because I'm damn confused. The Yankees by far lost this trade BIG TIME!