There’s something about this whole “who makes the lineup” debate that just doesn’t pass the smell test. According to Chris Kirschner of The Athletic, Aaron Boone wants everyone to believe—again—that the lineup card is his and his alone. No front office meddling. No analytics department whispering in his ear. Just Boone, a pen, and conviction.
Okay. Sure.
Because if Boone truly operates on an island, then we’ve got a bigger issue than anyone wants to admit, and that my friends is the truth.
Because listen; if he’s not looping in Brian Cashman and the Yankees’ analytics crew—yeah, the same group people love to call a bunch of spreadsheet warriors led by Michael Fishman—then what the hell is the point of having a front office?
Kirschner lays it out, and this part needs to be seen exactly as written:
"Aaron Boone insists that the most persistent myth about the New York Yankees is completely false.
He — not his bosses, nor their computer programs — has full control over setting the team’s lineup for every game.
Boone can’t count how many times he has said this over the years, but few seem to believe or remember his words. As he left the manager’s office at George M. Steinbrenner Field earlier this spring, he was told that perhaps his insight would put an end to the story once and for all.
“It probably won’t,” Boone said with a resigned shrug.
It’s a narrative that has taken hold in the fan base, and even former players such as Derek Jeter have implied the Yankees’ front office — not the manager — is calling the shots on key in-game decisions. But any suggestion that the front office hands Boone the lineup each day and he simply tapes it to the dugout wall is false.
“It irritates the f— out of me,” Yankees general manager Brian Cashman said, “because it’s so stupid, it’s so false, but yet people just throw it out willy-nilly. You can’t get the prior two managers or the current manager to testify under oath that they’ve ever been dictated the lineup once in (my tenure).”
“I find it laughable,” Boone said.
“I will unequivocally say that Aaron Boone makes the lineup,” bench coach Brad Ausmus said."
And here’s the problem: if all of that is true… it might actually be worse. Because if Boone really is the lone guy with Ausmus making these calls—if it’s his lineup, his decisions, his fingerprints all over it—then what exactly are we defending?
So, when the Yankees go quiet in big moments… when the same underperforming hitters keep getting run out there like Volpe and Wells… when the lineup feels like it was copied and pasted from the night before… when a pitcher clearly doesn’t have it and still gets one batter too many—that’s not “organizational philosophy?” That’s Boone? OK fine, then hey Boone, you don’t get to pound your chest about control and then play hot potato with the blame when things go sideways. That’s bullshit.
Kirschner even adds this:
"That is the only time, the manager said, when he consults the front office on the lineup: When he seeks out an opinion."
So, Boone can ask for input… he just doesn’t unless he feels like it? That’s not exactly screaming “cutting-edge operation.” That’s more like “I’ll wing it unless I get nervous.”
And then this gem:
"Cashman said that nearly every game, he sees the lineup for the first time when it is posted publicly. It does not get cross-checked by the front office. The only time Cashman — or in some cases, owner Hal Steinbrenner — gets a heads-up about a lineup is when a major decision has been made."
I mean… what?
So, the general manager of the New York Yankees just checks Twitter with the rest of us to see who’s batting fifth? That’s the process? That’s the master plan? Honestly, if that’s true, that might be the biggest red flag in this entire organization. But really, why are the Yankees trying so damn hard to defend this? Why is there this full-court press to convince fans that Boone is the guy, the decision-maker, the captain of the ship?
Because if he is, then the results fall squarely on him—and those results, when it matters most, haven’t been good enough. So fire the dude! Winning the division is nice. It’s not the goal. The goal is a championship, and right now that feels like a different zip code.
This whole cycle—front office backs Boone, Boone gets defensive, players take the heat, rinse, repeat—it’s exhausting. Fans aren’t stupid. They’re watching the same games.
If Boone wants to own the lineup, fine. Own the damn thing. But that also means owning the failures. The cold bats. The questionable decisions. The losses to teams they should absolutely beat in September. Hey Boone, when you lose, SAY YOU LOST THE GAME, DON'T BLAME THE PLAYERS! Because at the end of the day, it doesn’t matter who’s filling out the lineup card—Boone, Cashman, an algorithm, or some guy with a laptop and a latte.
The standard is simple: be a legitimate contender and win it all.
And until that happens, fans aren’t going to buy the quotes, the explanations, or the “trust the process” routine.
They’re just not.


No comments:
Post a Comment
Thank you for commenting on Bleeding Yankee Blue.
Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.